Contact a Humanities Office or Academic unit.
Find your course outlines.

Located in every province of Canada, and abroad, the Wilson Associates have been selected as scholars who are pushing the field of Canadian history in exciting new transnational directions. Each of these dynamic scholars is asking new questions and bringing new perspectives to the writing of Canadian history. Each will be entitled to contribute to the selection of the most boundary-breaking publication in Canadian history and to benefit from the support and services of the Institute.  The Wilson Institute hopes, through building a network of fellows and associates, to create a community of scholars inside and outside Canada exploring transnational history. We hope not only to put these scholars in contact with our Institute, so that we might expand our role in Canadian intellectual life, but also to put them in touch with one another, in a country all too often fragmented in ways that far-ranging transnational approaches stand to remedy. The study of Canadian history is undergoing a renaissance—and these scholars are indispensable to making it happen.

Ian McKay, Director of the Wilson Institute

Press releases about the Wilson Associates:

Current Associates, 2020-23

Kristine Alexander (University of Lethbridge)

Arnaud Bessière (Laurentian University)

Michel Beaulieu (Lakehead University)

Scott Berthelette (Queen’s University)

Harold Bérubé (Université de Sherbrooke)

Mikhail Bjorge (George Brown College)

Ben Bradley (NiCHE)

Dominique Brégent-Head (Memorial University of Newfoundland)

Jeff Brison (Queen’s University)

Clint Bruce (Université Sainte-Anne)

Benjamin Bryce (University of Northern British Columbia)

Sean Carleton (Mount Royal University) 

Sarah Carr-Locke (Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre)

Mary Chaktsiris (eCampusOntario)

Lisa Chilton (University of Prince Edward Island)

Rachel Collishaw (OHASSTA)

Afua Cooper (Dalhousie University)

James Daschuk (University of Regina)

Scott de Groot (Canadian Museum for Human Rights)

Robert Dennis (University of Prince Edward Island)

Helen Dewar (Université de Montréal)

Elizabeth Ellis (New York University)

François Furstenberg (Johns Hopkins University)

Lindsay Gibson (University of British Columbia)

Catherine Gidney (St. Thomas University)

Karine Hébert (Université du Québec à Rimouski)

Ailsa Henderson (University of Edinburgh)

Rhonda Hinther (Brandon University)

Laura Ishiguro (University of British Columbia) 

Gregory Kennedy (Université de Moncton)

Valerie Korinek (University of Saskatchewan)

Brittany Luby (University of Guelph) 

Kathryn Magee Labelle (University of Saskatchewan)

Maude-Emmanuelle Lambert (Library Archives Canada)

Daniel MacFarlane (Western Michigan University) 

Jennifer Marotta (Humber College)

Annika McPherson (University of Augsburg)

Karen Marrero (Wayne State University) 

James Murton (Nipissing University)

Kirk Niergarth (Mount Royal University)

Jason Opal (McGill University)

Martin Pâquet (Université Laval)

Liza Piper (University of Alberta)

Karolyn Smardz Frost (Acadia University)

Guillaume Teasdale (University of Windsor)

Paige Raibmon (University of British Columbia)

John Sandlos (Memorial University of Newfoundland)

Sara Spike (University of New Brunswick)

Jordan Stanger-Ross (University of Victoria)

Allyson Stevenson (University of Regina)

Elizabeth Vibert (University of Victoria)

David Webster (Bishop’s University)

Jon Weier (George Brown College/Western University) 

Harvey Amani Whitfield (University of Vermont)

Whitney Wood (Vancouver Island University)


Past Associates